Testing new computer AMD Ryzen 3900x

11/30/2020

I'm so happy. I spent the last two days building my new PC. Now when the system is properly configured I could begin making audio performance tests.

"My" previous PC (my girlfriend actually, mine is disassembled in the box ;) ):

CPU: Intel i7 6700 4 Core

  • Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z170-Gaming K3 rev 1.1
  • RAM: DDR4 16GB 2133MHz (XMP didn't work because it's CPU's max RAM Speed)
  • Audio Interface: Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 Gen1 (temporary)

New PC:

  • CPU: AMD Ryzen 3900x (12 Core)
  • Motherboard: Asus Rog Strix x570-e
  • RAM: Crucial 32GB DDR4 3600MHz
  • Graphics Card: NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB (taken from the old PC)
  • HDD/SSD: NVME OS, 2x SSD, 2x HDD (taken from the old PC)
  • CPU Cooler: Be Quiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
  • Case Fans: Noctua NF-S12A PWM
  • PSU: Corsair rm650i
  • Case: Corsair 4000D Airflow
  • Audio Interface: Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 Gen2
  • Audio Interface: Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 Gen1 (temporary)


New PC works only at 3200MHz RAM. Nothing could help to boot it at 3600MHz - but I don't really care because the system is solid as it is now. I also work with old Focusrite 2i2. Bigger Audio Interface Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 Gen2 is in the box until I move to a new home.

I created Test Project in Cubase Pro 10.5.12 on my old computer. The project contains 12x Native Instruments Super 8 playing 4 note chords/melody (Depeche Mode - Everything Counts) and simple (Cubase native) Brickwall Limiter on the Master Bus. Sample rate: 96kHz.

It was the maximum that the CPU could handle with some buffer under-runs (crackles in sound). Buffer Size: 1024 (23.083ms) - maximum. CPU hit: 100%. 4 Threads - disabled HT for better (about 20%) Cubase performance.

Test on new PC:

The same project runs at 256 Buffer Size (7.094ms) (default settings, it's small enough for me anyway).

Result:

CPU: 25%

Cubase Performance Meter (Average Load) : about 24%

Cubase Performance Meter (Real-time Peak): 65-80% Jumping

Because it's only around 30% CPU usage I decided to add more plugins to see how far I can go. I started with a plugin which was killing my previous PC quite easily: iZotope Neutron with Sculpture module (I really couldn't use it without bouncing tracks to audio in my old machine). I put it on all 12 channels with Super 8's.

Result:

CPU: 25%

Cubase Performance Meter (Average Load) : about 50%

Cubase Performance Meter (Real-time Peak): 65-100% Jumping

So I went further by adding 12x Plugin Alliance Acme Opticom XLA-3 which sometimes was problematic (it still may be as it was hard to predict before).

Result:

CPU: 30%

Cubase Performance Meter (Average Load) : about 65%

Cubase Performance Meter (Real-time Peak): 70-100% Jumping

Next: 12x Waves Berzerk Distortion (not very CPU hungry but still demanding especially in 96kHz sample rate.

Result:

CPU: 33%

Cubase Performance Meter (Average Load) : around 70%

Cubase Performance Meter (Real-time Peak): 70-100% Jumping

Then I added iZotope Ozone with Maximizer module set to IRC IV Modern - also a very demanding processor.

Result:

CPU: 42%

Cubase Performance Meter (Average Load): around 75-78%

Cubase Performance Meter (Real-time Peak): 70-90% Jumping

And the final Behemoth on the Master Bus: IK Multimedia Tape Machine 80 which works in 384kHz internally. Previously in the busy mix, I could use it on the Master Bus - it's a very demanding plugin but the sound is worth the price ;)

Result: No cracks / buffer under-runs. Moving windows could cause them to disappear visually for a second or two).

CPU: 45%

Cubase Performance Meter (Average Load) : around 90%

Cubase Performance Meter (Real-time Peak): 100%

At that point I decided that I'm good and I don't need to push it any further (let me enjoy crackling free sound on a new machine for some time ;) ). Real-time Peak was high very often. I need to check LatencyMon for eventual issues. I had a web browser open during tests as I'm writing this post at the same time.

I'm super excited and I can't wait when I finish downloading/installing all plugins. Then I'll try projects which were killing my old computer. I hope that the new ones can handle them easily.

UPDATE:

New test with:

  • 48x Massive X
  • 48x Acme Opticom XLA-3 Compressor
  • 48xTR5 Dyna-Mu Compressor
  • 48x BlackBox HG-2
  • 48x Neutron 3 EQ
  • 48xNeutron 3 Exciter

This time buffer size was set to 512. I can't believe that this CPU can handle this. It should explode! :) This is an incredibly powerful machine.

Thanks for reading, have a nice day.

Cheers! :)

Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started